Meditation Resources

Man, I am so grateful that I haven’t given up on meditation.  I truly believe that it is the single most important act of self-care.  Through meditation, I have seen that my thoughts do not mean anything.  I have learned to respond, rather than react.  I have created space in my head from the constant chatter of my “monkey mind.”  After getting all up in my head after seeing an ex BF last weekend, I am now meditating twice per day – 10 minutes each time.  I am still not looking forward to each session, but it is something that I make myself do (like exercise) for my own peace of mind.  I do believe that if I keep the practice up, I will someday look forward to sitting.  Until then, here are some of my favorite meditation resources.

 

Meditation Apps (both offer guided meditation sessions –  I’m currently using Headspace’s 10 minutes, 10 days guided meditation and their sleep guided meditation)

  1.  Headspace
  2. 10% Happier

happier

Podcasts:

  1.  10% happier
  2. Against the Stream
  3. Tara Brach

 

Books

  1. 10% Happier by Dan Harris
  2. Audiobook:  Radical Self Acceptance by Tara Brach

 

Other techniques:

  1.  Byron Katie’s, “The Work” (see my post here for an example)

byronkatie

 

2.  Writing Meditation (see my post here)

img_7411

3.  Coloring as Meditation (see my post here)

tat

4.  Running as Meditation (see my post here)

** And see this article here ***

cropped-img_1559.jpg

5.  This audio session from Bill Murray

“… you are the only one that is you … this is me … this is me … and you don’t have to look over there … keep reminding yourself, that’s where home is …”

billmurray

 

 

That’s where home is ….

xo,

C.

 

 

Respond to Meditation Resources

Leave a Reply

