The Best Thing I’ve Ever Made: Steakhouse Cauliflower “Rice” // PALEO

I am pretty excited about this post, you guys.  It’s been pending for a couple of weeks now, just waiting for me to photograph the process.

I totally stumbled upon this recipe when doing one of those “throw-whatever-is-in-the-fridge-in-a-skillet-and-see-what-happens” kind of nights.  What happened this particular occasion was MAGIC!  Yes, pure, stick-to-your-ribs, steak-y magic.

IMG_1236 (1)

I happened to have left over steak from a super yummy dinner (but, not so yummy date) at Texas Roadhouse.  I had the 10 ounce rib eye, and fortunately, had 5 ounces left over and sitting in my fridge.  I also had onions, mushrooms, cauliflower “rice,” and beef broth.  The rest was HISTORY!  Delicious history.

But, first, a word about cauliflower “rice.” For those of us trying to avoid grains and limit carbs, traditional rice is kind of luxury food that is reserved for dinners out, and would fall into my “20% category” (80% Paleo, 20% free for all).  Instead, welcome to the world of cauliflower rice.  I learned how to make it from the brilliant Mel at The Clothes Make The Girl Blog, but basically you just take cauliflower and pulse it in a food processor until it looks like rice.  Or, you can be lazy like me (or if you don’t have a food processor), and buy it at Target, or wherever you shop for groceries.  I was pleased to discover that Green Giant now makes what they call “Cauliflower Crumbles,” which is exactly what cauliflower rice looks like.  Thank you, Green Giant!  Processed food is bad, but convenience foods can be GREAT!

Image-1

So, how did I make this steak-y goodness?

  1.  Assemble ingredients:  cauliflower rice, steak, onion, mushrooms, Kerrygold butter, beef brothIMG_1214
  2. Melt butter in cast iron skillet.  Caramelize onions.  Once onions reach desired goldenness, add mushrooms.  Cook mushrooms and onions until well combined.  Add minced garlic.IMG_1213
  3. Cut left over steak into small pieces.  Add to mushrooms, onions and garlic.  Saute.IMG_1211
  4. When steak, mushroom and onion flavors have combined to your satisfaction, add the cauliflower rice and enough beef broth so that liquid covers the ingredients. IMG_1215
  5. Simmer.  (And try to resist drooling!)IMG_1212
  6. Simmer covered and uncovered until cauliflower rice reaches your desired texture.  IMG_1216
  7. I like mine “al dente.”  I simmered about 15 minutes.
  8. DONE!  Bon appetite! IMG_1236 (1)
4 responses to The Best Thing I’ve Ever Made: Steakhouse Cauliflower “Rice” // PALEO

Leave a Reply

