Link Love – First Week of April 2015

Green Smoothies.  Stitch Fix.  Spring Cleaning.  And a Paleo Easter Recipe Roundup.  Things I love on the Internet, Easter Edition.

Ugh, so, I’m home this afternoon in bed with a cold.  (What?) I feel like “the Universe” is punishing me (ok, not really, but I am nothing if not dramatic), because today it is a BEAUTIFUL sunny day and I’m too sick to enjoy it.  I’m in bed in the middle of the day, and I NEVER do that — unless I am sick.  Blerg.  Really, this never happens.  I don’t even like naps.  I’m weird.  Not one to waste a moment of time in this my second “go” at living, I thought if I’m home sick, I should blog.  So, here we are, friends.

I thought being home sick would be a good time to share the things I’ve been reading this week – blog version.

Link love.  Links to love.  Enjoy!

1.  Green smoothie recipe from Fit2Fat2Fit:

Spinach Shake (1 scoop of Protein Vanilla Whey Protein, 3 cups of spinach, ½ banana, 2 tbsp of peanut butter, ¾ cup of unsweetened almond milk, 2 cups of ice).

Fit2Fat2Fit

I used almond butter and coconut milk to make the shake Paleo-ish.  It is delicious.  I don’t normally drink my nutrition, but I am sick and I don’t want to eat.  Enter:  the smoothie.  Full on nutrient style~

IMG_9569(see?? I’m sick.  Green smoothie, oranges, water.  And blogging.)

2.  Cleaning your kitchen for Passover (and Spring!) from thekitchn.com

How I Clean My Kitchen For Passover

Well, as a non-Jewish person, I had no idea that cleaning the kitchen is part of the Passover tradition, but I love it!  I love the idea of cleaning out all the winter heaviness at the beginning of the lighter part of the year.  As the author of the post says, “[t]his year, whether you personally celebrate Passover or not, use the holiday as inspiration to give your kitchen a fresh start.”

When I’m done being sick, I will be cleaning my kitchen.

Masel tov!

3.  Paleo Diet Lifestyle’s Grapefruit, Melon & Orange Salad

Maybe because I am sick and in need of Vitamin C, or maybe it is the “Spring colors” of this salad, I don’t know why, but I am obsessed with the idea of this salad.  Can someone come make it for me while I lay here and cough?  Thanks!

Look at how pretty it is?!?!  Yum!

paleoleapgrapefruitsalad

Paleo Leap Grapefruit Melon & Orange Salad

4.  Paleo EASTER!

Thanks, A Girl Worth Saving and The Food Lovers Kitchen, for all these yummy looking Paleo Easter recipes.  Seriously, can someone come over and cook for me?!?  

Paleo Easter Recipes from A Girl Worth Saving

Paleo Easter Menus — Autoimmune Friendly from The Food Lovers Kitchen

Sarah Wilson and friends over at I Quit Sugar have a great looking Paleo Hot Cross Bun recipe just in time for Easter … also something that someone should make for me … (geesh, I’m a baby when sick!)

I Quit Sugar Paleo Hot Cross Bun

And, guys, I am super excited about this next one.  Mickey over at Autoimmune Paleo came up with an Autoimmune Paleo Protocol version of “Strawberry Fool.”  Oh man.  I used to make a strawberry (or blackberry or whatever berry I had) “fool,” prior to becoming Paleo.  This looks like a substitute that I (and you!) can feel great about.

Autoimmune Paleo Thyme Scented Strawberry Fool

Even while sick (cough! cough!), I might, actually, be able to get up the energy to make these adorable little treats~

Rabbit Food For My Bunny Teeth – Coconut Cottontails

Coconut-Cottontails-11-635x953

I’ve also found some tips about steaming (what?!?!) eggs to hard boil.

Simply Recipes How To Steam Eggs

And some ideas about NATURAL egg dye-ing, for those of you who color eggs for Easter.

Design Sponge – DIY Naturally Dyed Easter Eggs

Paper & Stitch – Last Minute Easter Egg Decorating

And, last but not least, a fitness professional telling my that I SHOULD eat that Cadbury Egg.  Thanks, Drew!

Fit2Fat2Fit Why You Should Eat a Cadbury Cream Egg

Last Easter, I was in Alaska spending Easter with my favorite “bunny,” my niece.  Check out these amazing photos of what Easter in Alaska looks like.  (And what the most adorable 6-year-old ever looks like.  Not that I am biased or anything.  No.)

IMG_1329 IMG_1398

5.  Spring Clean Your Wardrobe With Help From Career Girl Daily (and me!)

In my AudioBook recommendation post, I talked to you guys about how I have recently decluttered my life and closet, and the results have been amazing.  See post here.

See my new and improved closet with all those empty hangers, below???  (I know, I keep posting this picture, but it makes me happy.  Sorry).

IMG_8271

Career Girl Daily seems to be on the same plan.  See their recent posts about minimalism below.  It is Spring, guys.  Time for new beginnings — clean kitchens and clutter free closets.  Go for it!

Career Girl Daily — Tips on When To Throw Away Your Clothes

Career Girl Daily — Three Step Plan For a Minimalistic Life

6.  Dove’s One Beautiful Thought Campaign

This has been making its way around the internet for a couple of weeks, but I love it so much, that I wanted to include it here too.

7.  A great recording on the addiction to “busy”

Thanks, Tim Ferris, for this Tim Kreider recording, “Lazy: A Manifesto.”  It is a great rant on the addiction to being “busy” that seems to be EVERY WHERE these days, and a glowing manifesto for being IDLE.  (PS – I am not busy.  I am blessed to have a life that is FULL today, but I am also okay, that, for today, I am home resting from a “Spring Cold,” being … idle …and not hating it.)

Tim Kreider We Learn Nothing

tooshort

8.  Stitch Fix

Okay, I just jumped on the Stich Fix bandwagon.  After getting rid of lots of clothes in my “de-clutter my life project,” I do not want to just fill my closet up with clothes that I don’t absolutely LOVE.  Enter the idea of Stitch Fix.  A personal shopper sends you a monthly box of clothes picked just for you, for you to try on and keep what you love and send back what you don’t.

stitchfix

I’ve been reading other bloggers rave about Stitch Fix for months, and after seeing these most recent posts, I finally signed up myself.  My first box is expected April 25th.  I will do a detailed review once that box comes in.  I am excited, y’all!

Happy Healthy Mama’s March 2015 Review

Julie’s Eats & Treats Stitch Fix March 2015 Review

Primally Inspired’s April Stitch Fix Review

I cannot wait to see what goodies my personal shopper picks out for me!  Details coming soon ~

If you want to Stitch Fix, click here:  Stitch Fix Referral

IMG_9535

Well, that’s it for today, kids.  I probably should actually take a nap to get over this “Spring cold.”

Thanks for reading.  I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments below.

Or, if you are shy, email me!  Email at: theevolutionofcc@gmail.com

xoxo,

c.

Respond to Link Love – First Week of April 2015

Leave a Reply

