Hello 2015. Hello 21 day sugar detox!

Leave it to me to make a GRAND announcement that I will not be writing about nutrition as much on the blog as I once was, and, BOOM — all I do is write about nutrition.  Totes typical Cyndi.  Happy New Year, y’all!  I am hopeful that 2015 will bring beauty to us all.  But first, we must detox from SUGAR!!!  Yep, that’s right.  SUGAR DETOX TIME!  You with me?  Hello?  Yes?  Yes? (I hear nothing, but crickets…)

SO … HOW are we going to detox from sugar, you ask.  All the answers are right here:  Diane Sanfilippo’s 21 day sugar detox.  Google it.  Buy the books.  Follow the boards on Pinterest (especially mine).

This program rocks.  Seriously, it rocks.  And by rocks I mean it works, but it is DIFFICULT.  Well, difficult, if you are a total, crazy sugar junkie like me, anyway.  (And for full disclosure, and to give you a clue about the level of sugar junkie I am, I present the following example.  I woke up many mornings in December surrounded by candy wrappers.  Lots of candy wrappers.  Apparently in the middle of the night, I was consuming an entire package of chocolates.  Chocolates that were meant to be sent to Alaska as Christmas gifts.  And I remember doing it, so I can’t even blame it on “sleep eating / sleep walking.”  Lovely, eh?!)

Monday January 5th 2015 was Day ONE for me.  Today is Day Two.  (You like how I did that?!  Count?!  Clever, eh?!)

sugard

How am I doing so far, you ask??  Well, I’m doing it.  But, if I said it was easy and that I wasn’t craving sugar like a crazy mad woman, I would be lying.  And I don’t want to lie to you guys.  Really, I don’t.  So, I’m doing it.  Enough said.

Seriously, though, I really want some fruit.  Like really want some fruit.  Good God.  I am not even thinking about chocolate or SMARTIES or Paleo treats …. I’m just thinking about wholesome, friendly, fruit. Sweet baby Jesus…   It is going to be a long 21 days …

I am following Level 2 of the 21 day sugar detox program, because of my dairy obsession.  What am I eating?  Not much to be honest, because I am already sick of everything and only want fruit.  BUT, I have been down this road before, friends, and I know this will pass.

Today I had my bulletproof coffee, BACON (Dear God, thank you for bacon.  Really.  Thank you so so much for delicious pigs and bacon), more coffee with just heavy whipping cream, herbal tea, black olives (an entire can of black olives), and this delicious carrot mash I found on the PaleOMG site.  (Dear God, thank you for Julie Bauer over at PaleOMG.  And for carrots.  And mashed carrots.)  You may think I am crazy, but this carrot mash is A-MAZE-BALLS.  SUPER DUPER A-MAZE-BALLS.  sugardet

And it is keeping me from wanting to punch my brother, who lives in Alaska, and who is currently texting me pictures of delicious, gluten-filled sugar bomb crap (crap that I sent him to replace the chocolates I binged on during my sugar mania … see story/disclosure above).   I want to FaceTime him and punch the phone.  (Just kidding, guys!  C’mon!  I heart my brother. Totally!  Really, he is not even trying to mess with me [I don’t think …], but that’s how moody and grumpy I am when “withdrawing.” )    JOY!

I know that in a couple of days I will be feeling fantastic — healthy and full of energy — because of this sugar detox.  I just have to push through the MENTAL CRAVINGS, which are currently almost overwhelming.

Sigh ….

Stay tuned, folks.  The happy part is coming 🙂

It always does.

xo,

c

6 responses to Hello 2015. Hello 21 day sugar detox!

Leave a Reply

