Bye bye sugar! The not so sweet story of sugar and me

I am a sugar addict.  I keep testing this, because I don’t really want to believe it is true.  But it is.  I love sugar, but it’s effect on me is not pretty.   I have been known to eat chocolate and other candy in my sleep.  I have gotten into fights with office mates (as an adult, I might add) over candy.  It was my first “love” and my first addiction.  And, now I am addressing it: by eliminating sugar in all its forms – the obvious ones like candy, chocolate, high fructose corn syrup, honey, etc., and the not so obvious ones like potatoes and fruit.  (Bread would be on this list also, but  I have been” gluten-free” for almost a year now and the “no bread, pasta, etc.,” mantra is just a part of my life now.)

Some days are better than others.  Today, for instance, I had a couple of squares of dark chocolate.  I have not felt any sugar craziness … yet.  I’m hopeful that just a couple of squares of good quality, low sugar, dark chocolate will be do-able.  [fingers crossed!]  Oh, and I also had a few blackberries.  Again, hopeful!  I’ve read that berries are lower in sugar content than other fruits.

I have been fortunate to discover some great resources to help me kick the sugar beast.  I urge you to check these out:

Awesome, Aussie, Sarah Wilson and her “I Quit Sugar” website (the e-book is also great).

And for help addressing the EMOTIONAL issues of sugar addiction, I turn to the beautiful Karly Randolph Pitman. I am currently reading her “Overcoming Sugar Addiction” book, and will be talking about it in an upcoming post.

So, anyway, I did say that sugar was my first addiction, right?  I am not alone.  In fact, I suspect that most alcoholics and/or drug addicts have “sugar issues,” if not full blown sugar addictions.  But, I can only speak for myself.  Oh, and Eric Clapton 😉

4 responses to Bye bye sugar! The not so sweet story of sugar and me

Leave a Reply

